October 26, 2023
From Fight Back News
0 views


Freedom Road Socialist organization will be hosting an online meeting with Carlos Martinez, author of The East is Still Red: Chinese Socialism in the 21st Century on Sunday, October 29, 3 p.m. Central time (1 p.m. Pacific, 2 p.m. Mountain, 4 p.m. Eastern).

The book was reviewed for Fight Back! by J. Sykes, who gave the following summary:

“The new book, The East is Still Red: Chinese Socialism in the 21st Century, by Carlos Martinez and published by Praxis Press, is a valuable and important defense of socialism in the People’s Republic of China today. As the U.S. ramps up propaganda and aggression against China, this book addresses an important need, for everyone who wants a better world, to understand and defend China.

“The book begins by acknowledging that there is a great deal of ignorance and confusion, especially in the imperialist countries, about China. Martinez writes, ‘Even among socialists and communists, there are misconceptions and important gaps in understanding.’ He addresses these issues head on.”

The Sykes review concludes, “The book ends with a call to ‘unite to oppose the U.S.-led New Cold War on China,’ and says that ‘All those that oppose imperialism must resolutely and consistently oppose the U.S.-led New Cold War in all its manifold forms.’ This is certainly true, and this book makes a great contribution towards that effort.”

Visit tinyurl.com/frso1023 to register for the meeting and receive the Zoom link.

#FRSO #Socialism #China




Source: Fightbacknews.org